Customer Service 866.965.0400

Getting my PC, some questions...

jbizzle

Question

I'm an amateur when it comes to detailing, and I should be receiving my Porter Cable within the next few days and I just had some questions before I actually use it.

1. 3 different type of polishes came with the PC (SSHR,SHR,FMP), do I start off using the SHR then go to the SSHR if necessary? I'm sure the paint on my car has never been corrected so its in pretty rough shape right now.

2. When I am working on the same panel, how do I know I have worked the polish enough, and when should I add more polish? I am supposed to add an "X" of polish to the pad on each and every panel, right?

3. The PC is fine going around edges and humps right? This is my first time ever using a polisher and I do not want to ruin my paint doing so.

Those are all my questions for now, if I have anymore I'll ask. Any other tips/suggestions are welcome and appreciated.

10 answers to this question

1) you bet, s tart with SHR and bump up to the green if needed always starting with the least agressive.

2) you will know that you have worked the product long enough when it "flashes" it will turn pretty much clear. I usually add a tiny drop of polish each panel and mist it with DS

3) The PC will do just fine around edges and body lines, dont have to worry about burning the paint up

Just have fun using it the ifrst few times, you will get more of a feel for the polish adding and such as you go. ando f course post up some pictures for us

1. 3 different type of polishes came with the PC (SSHR,SHR,FMP), do I start off using the SHR then go to the SSHR if necessary? I'm sure the paint on my car has never been corrected so its in pretty rough shape right now.