Customer Service 866.965.0400

Lets talk business management

infinitone

Question

Aside from car detailing, there's more to running a proper detailing business.  I was wondering what everything uses to manage their business such as scheduling customer bookings, invoicing, taking payments, keeping in touch with customers, attracting new ones.

Are their any specific strategies people use?

14 answers to this question

Some free/damn near free products we use here at Atlanta Auto Salon to help manage our business:

Scheduling: Google Calendar

Invoicing: Quickbooks

Taking payments: Square

Keeping in touch with customers: Ace of Sales for my email campaigns, Highrise for my CRM

Attracting new ones: Facebook, Google+, Forums, Thesis for on page SEO, Leadpages for landing pages, custom forms for email capture. 

I have been using Quickbooks/Intuit for a few years.  It has it's pluses and minuses.  I recently moved our website from Homestead (Intuit platform) to Big Commerce.  I am not good with computers and was able to build the site myself and manage it myself.  My Big Commerce store is a lot easier to manage, offers a lot more options, including sales, banners, etc.  My internet business has expanded because of it.

Big Commerce

Shop Thompson Racing

I have also moved from Intuit Merchant Services to Cashier Live for my POS @ shows/clinics.  I use a Linea Pro on my iPhone and it works amazing!  They are the same scanners/CC swipers used @ the Apple Store.  I have barcoded all my inventory and can teach someone to run the system in under a half hour.  The system is very easy to use and works!  I used to use a Mophie and before that had a Square.  In my opinion, Square is a POS and has left me stranded at multiple Carlisle events.  That was 4 years ago, there are more options today.

Cashier Live

Linea Pro

Mines just side jobs and this isn't just for detailing but for computer repair and consolations as well...

Schedules: Calendar App with iCloud