Customer Service 866.965.0400

Great looking finish but...

rb11701

Question

...so I polished up the wife's acura the other day. (2003 TL)

I did 2 passes with orange/SHR on speed 6 (PC XP), followed with 2 passes white/FMP at 5 then backed down to 3. Then a coat of SMW.

Now the finish looks like a mirror, but if I get the right angle up close and kinda look 'over' the hood I can see marks and very tiny pot marks. When I back away it looks flawless.

Did I need another pass with the orange/shr combo? I thought I was going kinda slow and the plate was spinning. I am rather new at machine polishing. Or do I need to get a more aggressive coumpound? I am assuming the marks where a tad deeper and not enough clear was removed. Or perhaps my technique needs to be refined.

Like I said, the finish looks very good, just being real particuliar on the DD's.

I wouldn't get that picky with a DD, if you need to search for these flaws are they really worth sacrificing more clear coat for ?

I hear what you are saying, and you are right. Just one of those things. Spent some good time on the hood and was like WTF when I saw them. Again, it really has to be in the right light on an angle. And it is a DD, but I like my dd perfect lol.

I will see if I can get a pic up here.

Thanks!

To answer your original question, yes, you should have made more passes. As a matter of fact, you should have been doing the "up close inspection" before you moved on past the orange pad/SHR combo.

Now like Bill said, I wouldn't sweat it either on a daily driver. My daily driver hasn't been washed in over two years, much less polished.