Customer Service 866.965.0400

my plea to you, don't forget to live your life

IMADreamer

It sounds simple, but it's so easy to do. It's so easy to get caught up in work, and other other things that you forget to just live, trust me I know and it's costs me dearly. I'll admit, I've always been a hard worker, not to toot my own horn but growing up on a farm tends to do that to you. Those of you that have done it know there is always work to be done so you never are really "done" for the day, you just have to stop for the day. Well about two years ago I took on a bunch of extra work. Not only was I working my normal job but I was offered a job that was to lead to a career in what I studied in college. It meant working seven days a week but it was something I was willing to do to get where I wanted in life. Things were fine at first, I had a great girl who was very supportive of my goals and dealt with not seeing me much. She was used to it anyway as she joked that for 3 months in the fall she was a "harvest widow" when we would start corn harvest and I would disappear. However only a week apart my uncle was diagnosed with cancer and my father had a heart attack. All of this happened during the worst Mississippi River flooding since 1993 (we farm in the river bottoms) and during bean planting and wheat harvest. I did what had to be done, I told my boss at my full time job I needed a month off to take care of the farm and I basically said if that's not ok I quit. Well it was ok. So I began farming full time and then working my second job as well. There were days when I didn't sleep and what little time I did spend at home my gf was threatening to leave. I didn't listen.