Customer Service 866.965.0400

General Motors and the AI in general

Team Adam's

I'm not an expert in the field or anything and I really do have mixed feelings about the government bailouts - but I do think GM should be saved.

1 in 10 people are fed somehow because of the American auto industry. It's not like if GM goes under it's only GM employees that would be affected, it's all the little companies that supply parts to GM to build the vehicles, market them, sell them, etc etc. Take Ford for example. Technically Ford only makes a few parts! The sheet metal for the vehicle bodies and the drivetrain are actually the only Ford items they produce - modern large scale auto makers are more accurately simply assembly plants. An overwhelming majority of a new vehicle is comprised of parts from hundreds of different companies that sell to the big 3. A company in one state might be the sole supplies of all the nuts and bolts for a vehicle while another company produces all the interior plastics. These are all smaller companies that employ at most a few dozen or maybe a hundred people - all dependent on the larger assembly companies (Ford, GM, DC.)

If GM goes under it won't be only those guys laid off - it'll be an avalanche of small firms that will take a hit.

It's 2008 and with OSHA requirements and the government's push to keep jobs without our borders I gotta say, unions have a tough time selling their current necessity to the public. How they can justify some of their requirements to the auto makers is beyond me. My father supported our family thanks to the auto industry but was never union and he did fine. When a line worker with Toyota can do the same job for half the price the UAW demands it really puts into question how GM could afford to pay their employees.

I think if GM gets the bailout the government should have a say in how it's spent and if that means dropping some of the requirements the UAW demands then so be it.