Customer Service 866.965.0400

Ready to open a business.

Comment

Question

I've been learning all over the place for 3 months, I've designed a website, I've gotten a bunch of supplies, and I think I've gotten mostly everything ready except for opening.

My problem is I cant get a final answer from anyone as to rather I need some sort of a license or not. People tell me I need a DBA or an LLC or some sort of business license, but I'm not sure what kind or if I even need one.

Anyone? I'm in Florida.

12 answers to this question

You will almost certainly need a business license for whatever jurisdiction/county you're in. You'll also want to register a trade name with that same jurisdiction, which will then entitle you to use a DBA name. As far as incorporating, sole proprietor, LLC, etc, that is up to you as to how you want to structure things. There are tax implications as well as liability and insurance things to consider when deciding which business structure to use. Your county government website is a good place to start as I'm sure they have a FAQ about how to setup a new business.

- Darryl

This is the first business I've ever started. I'm planning to detail by myself for a while, but maybe in the future hiring other people. I'm pretty sure a sole proprietorship would suit me better than an LLC, for now atleast?