Customer Service 866.965.0400

Audi A8 Detail: Phase 1 complete (long read)

AudiOx

Question

I'm still waiting on the remainder of my Adam's products to come in, so I've watched all the videos twice in anticipation.

Disclaimer: Since I'm new to Adam's, I'm still using some non-Adam's product so forgive me. They are getting phased in to my arsonel.

The subject:

I took my A8 on a 1000 mile round trip last weekend to the Tampa area. While there, we went through about a 1/2 mile of torn up roads that more resembled a monster truck pit than a road due to 1: no asphalt, and 2: recent torrential storms. As a result, I have caked up mud in all the wheel wells and rockers with numerous splatter up the car on the side mirrors and windows. Of course there's a 1000 miles of bug splats and road grime too.

The task:

I guessed that I'd might have to wash her twice, so at 10:30 tonight I figured I'd get the 1st wash out of the way so I can complete the detail this weekend. I was right; the car is still disgusting after the wash.

But I used the 3 hours to practice technique, many of them new to me:

(:thumbsup: - I highly recommend trying the following procedure or product if you aren't already.)

:thumbsup:-Detail the engine bay first using all-purpose cleaner, light spray water, well brush, and detail brush. (I idled the car for about 10min afterwards to assure water was evaporated from any electrical components)

-Pressure wash down the car to get the 'big chunks' off

-Scrub wheel wells with well brush

-Then wash wheels using :thumbsup:Turbo stick, :thumbsup:soft lug detail brush, and Boar's hair brush

-2 bucket wash, both with grit guards

-foam gun pre-treatment over entire car w/ :thumbsup: shut off valve and quick disconnects.

-2 wash mitts for upper and lower panels

:thumbsup:-Adding soap directly to wash mitts

-No scrubbing, just gentle strokes and doing whole body and windows before rinsing. (nighttime wash so no soap drying issues)