Customer Service 866.965.0400

Hard clear coat vs the pc 7424xp

Jonothon

Question

Im a detailing newbie and I recently got the Adam's Complete Porter Cable 7424 XP Polisher Kit, a nice block of time where I was only moderately interupted, and after watching all the how to videos from Addams and the Junkman (or is that THE Junkman??) and decided to do the full exterior detail on my candy white VW Passat.

My clear coat is .. hard. I'm wondering if I should invest in the focus pads or step up to the Flex.

I've spent hours on just the hood and never did get rid of the scratches and artifacts. After many more that 3 passes with the SS&H and the green pad, they are diminished but still there.

Since this my first time doing this, I tend to suspect my lack of experience but I have since determined that my VW clearcoat is pretty hard from visiting VW sites.

So... do you think the focus pads will work for me on the PC or should I just go with the Flex?

By the way, I spread the polish with the speed setting on 1 and the PC was ALL over the place. I had to really hold on to it tightly while at the higher speeds it was completely controllable and comfortable. Is this the norm?

14 answers to this question

From your description it sounds like you are using improper technique to me(pretty novice though). Did you watch junkmans speed of movement videos? You are probably trying to do the work instead of letting the machine work for you. The PC shouldn't be jumping around at all. Are you using the handle? Might have it tilted causing it to jump.

The 4 inch pads will take forever to work any amount of large area and I suspect they could do more harm than good since they heat up quickly and are harder to control. Watch more videos and check to see if there are any dealers/detail clinics in your area for more info!