Customer Service 866.965.0400

Americana or Sealant?

scott750

Question

So I'm just getting into using Adams products. So far I'm really impressed with the results! I just finished detailing my truck with the following: Meguiars Gold Class shampoo > Adams Clay bar > Revive > Americana.

I was trolling the Forums and came across a thread by Dylan explaining waxes vs sealants and it got me thinking.

http://www.adamsforums.com/topic/14851-faq-whats-the-best-wax-for-black-paint/

It got me thinking: is Americana the right protection for a DD? Or is Machine sealant the way to go? According to the article it sounds like a sealant will last longer than a wax.

My main goal is protection then gloss. It's been 100+ degrees out for the past 3 weeks straight and I'm wondering if wax is enough?

I don't have a porter cable or flex and the only sealant I see for hand is quick sealant. Can machine Super Sealant be applied by hand?

Am I worrying for nothing? Is the longevity in protection of using a sealant compared to a wax mean I will be "rewaxing" every 6 months instead of every 3 months with a wax?

Sorry if these questions seem dumb.

24 answers to this question

sealant last longer and provides more protection.  i put down sealant and then follow it with a coat of americana or patriot.  this way i have the benefit of the sealant with the depth / wet look that the wax provides. 

so IMO applying both is the right way to go.

sealant last longer and provides more protection.  i put down sealant and then follow it with a coat of americana or patriot.  this way i have the benefit of the sealant with the depth / wet look that the wax provides. 

so IMO applying both is the right way to go.

I might add that MSS should be applied with a machine, however you can apply Quick Sealant by hand....

Adam's Quick Sealant