Customer Service 866.965.0400

Getting high-gloss shine over polyurethane

nspikito

Question

Hi folks. I am a newbie. I'm trying to learn from detailing knowledge, for cars, how to get a deep wet-looking gloss on my wooden furniture. I built a large walnut dining room table. I finished the top with polyurethane and let it cure for a month. At this point it looked beautifully shiny, as if it were wet. But the surface wasn't smooth to the touch, probably some dust or tiny bubbles in the cured finish. So I buffed it with Abralon pads up to 3000 grit. That produced an ultra smooth finish. But the table top looked cloudy/hazy (no depth)  Then I buffed it with Menzerna Super Finish Plus 3800. And it's as smooth as a baby's butt now. But it's still cloudy. The wood itself is gorgeous, and it really shines if I wipe the tabletop wet with mineral spirits. But when the solvent evaporates the finish becomes dull again.

Do you have any suggestions? How about a glaze? Incidentally I used polyurethane because of its toughness.

You car geeks could certainly teach an old wood geek like me some tricks! At least I hope so.

Edited by nspikito
improve wording

7 answers to this question

10 hours ago, nspikito said: