Customer Service 866.965.0400

Washing with "dish soap."

Memphis Senior

Question

I know this is a no, no.

I was on another forum where a young man asked about the proper way to wash/wax his truck.

This is a DD that I got the impression was regularly taken offroading.

Several people told him to clay the truck before waxing.

Then a few others suggested he wash the truck with "dish soap" to remove the old wax before claying.

I'm still new to all this and learning. So my question is. Good idea? Bad idea? Doesn't matter. WHY? :confused:

23 answers to this question

You can use original formula Dawn to take off the old wax just don't use it often. But a better way is a 50/50 mix of IPA and distilled water. Wipe it down with that then clay and polish. New vehicles really need a good claying right off the truck :2thumbs::2thumbs::2thumbs:

Some people like to use Dawn dish soap to prep their car for a detail, as the degreasing agents in the soap will strip off any old wax and leave you with a clean surface to start claying with. The downside is the Dawn is bad for trim. Others will use a 50/50 mix of water and Iso Alcohol. Claying will also remove old wax, but the downside is if the car needs to be clayed, you'll probably have to do it twice - once to remove the wax, and then again to remove the contaminants that were trapped below the wax. A polish like Revive Polish will also remove wax, but, like claying, it's already halfway into the detail process and you'll end up doing it twice, once to remove the wax and again after claying/correcting to enhance the depth of your paint.