Customer Service 866.965.0400

Royal Purple Products

jcarr

Anyone have personal experience with Royal Purple products? Are they worth the extra price? I am curious about their power steering, ATF, gear lube, and radiator additive? I have always used Mobile 1 in my performance cars.

Thanks

J.

amsoil all the way. I've talked with many reputable shops who have torn down motors that have used strictly royal purple and they said its a mess. For mustangs you an order a set of gears and the lube that comes with it is RP, my shop threw it out and won't use it, period.

I can tell you from personal experience once you've opened up an engine and seen all the purple sludgy crap Royal Purple leaves behind you will never use that crap again. I've been running Amsoil now for a couple years and I'm pretty satisfied with it, however I won't tear this engine open until this winter.

I have used Mobil 1 for years. Never had any issues with it. I changed the oil and filter every 7500 miles and never had a motor issue. I have also used part synthetic and part conventional (Motorcraft) and never had any issues, change the oil and filter when the computer in the truck tells me to change it.

Guess I'm the only pro Royal Purple products user here. Our 2004 Durango has only used RP products since the first oil change and she has over 161,000 miles on still going strong and we drive it at least 50 miles daily.

Used to run Royal Purple in my turbo Civic for a while until I started hearing about horror stories. I could of done some research to see if the claims were substantiated, but I simply didn't even want to take a chance and switched to Mobil 1. Interestingly enough, Nissan doesn't recommend using synthetics in my 350Z though.

IMO people put too much emphasis on the brand or type of oil. Change it often with a good oil and filter, check it between fills, let the engine come to running temp before beating on it, and you'll be good to go for hundreds of thousands of miles.