Customer Service 866.965.0400

Looking for Purchase Advice: Pressure Washer

Makrel

Question

I'd like to start using a pressure washer to knock the Colorado winter muck off the car prior to foaming it and washing it. I'm really tired of feeding the touchless wash and undoing my 'Adams Clean' as I call it.

I've spied the Simpson one at Costco and the Generac at Lowes. I've got no prior experience but I've read all the 'don't blast the paint off' threads I could find, so I think I'll be ok... what I'm looking for is a quality unit around 3000 psi. I have heard that the simpson is a grab bag of bad out of the box and perfectly fine. I'm pretty good mechanically and I service all my equipment well.

Anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks!

19 answers to this question

The AR 118 is great pressure washer for the money if you just want to use it to blast off muck.

However if you want to use a foam cannon in conjunction with it, I would recommend getting a karcher as it's much easier to make the attachments work.

I spent 2 years getting the parts right for the AR 118 to work with the MTM foam cannon...

Ar 118 = 1500 PSI, 1.2 gpm, electric, $85

Definitely want to go towards the foam cannon route and also have it be suitable for concrete and house cleaning.

I like the Honda engine my mover has, so I may use that as a bias when looking...

check out pressurewashersdirect.com

they sell them below retail, have plenty to choose from, including recommended models. i have my eye on a Briggs&Stratton model; their engines are made in USA :patriot:

definitely get a foam cannon!

Edited by 2010TexasEdition

Pressure washer is something I need/want to purchase this year. So I'm interested o. Others advise as well.

I have a Troy Built XP, 2600psi, 2.3 gpm, has a honda engine. A 3gpm and 3000psi would be nice but I got it used for 160$ have done my house and use it with the MTM foam canon.

420293_10151547032773628_1206271366_n.jpg

works like a champ!

-Carl