Customer Service 866.965.0400

Americana Cracked X2

IrishCurse

Question

Hey guys, obviously I'm new, but Ive been using adams for a couple of years and have been trolling the forums for a while. Thanks for the great info and topics! I received a tub of americana with my porter cable polishing kit and it was cracked. I sent pics to Adams and of course, they immediately replaced my wax. :)

I took precautions this time and learned from the forums that I could/should put it in the fridge, which I did. I left to Turkey for a business project and was gone close to a year. When I took the tub out of the fridge, sure enough, three cracks. It seemed to go on my Camaro fine other than a few flakes and clumps breaking away at the crack edges. My question is, is this normal? Ok to use? It certainly isn't as user friendly as a solid puck for sure. I don't want to put Adams out, and I don't want something for nothing. Im wondering what it is that I'm doing that is causing this?

:help:

Matt

24 answers to this question

Why would one think that cracks in a fragile block of wax affect the performance? Every wax at some point will crack whether its 5 bucks or 70 bucks. I would also think that putting it in the fridge would possibly dry it out just like dry skin in the winter. You can get dehydrated in the winter cold months.

I live in NM, there is no humidity here. I'll go ahead and say average of 15-20%. I think Ive read Dylan sate that they designed the new containers to be air tight as air is detrimental to the wax. No air movement, no humidity alteration.

I was thinking the same, or a pyrex inside of a larger pan slowly heated to the necessary temp to melt the way. I'd lose a bit in the pyrex during re-pour, but oh well. I'd only resort to that if there was an application issue, or it got hard to work with. I did the SS a couple weeks back and it did seem to apply just fine.