Customer Service 866.965.0400

Difference between paste wax and liquid wax

BrandonL

Question

I've been seeing a few threads about the paste wax that Adam's is coming out with and everyone seems to be very excited about it. What is the difference between a paste wax and a liquid wax like the Buttery Wax? Just curious, thanks everyone :D

I have a hard time picturing how one would apply a paste wax with a machine, but Im no pro...so if its a paste, and if it can only he applied by hand, I'd be interested to see a how-to video. Unless its a no-brainer like the BSG.

Griot's Garage and DoDo Juice make a paste wax in a container like deodorant comes in. You just screw it up from the bottom and apply the wax to the pad. It is amazing how easy it is to use. Maybe Adam's could look into a container like they are using.

Nope, 100% all day long :cheers:

It's not possible to have 100% carnuba - it would be as solid as a brick and astronomically expensive.

"Percentage of wax content- most carnaubas advertised with 50% or more Carnauba wax content is truly advertising a weight, not a volume. 30% by volume is about 50% by weight is about the maximum content (approx 35% Carnauba by volume makes it almost impossible to add/remove) that’s why you never can truly assess the amount of Carnauba in a manufactured wax unless the manufacturer specifically lists its content percentage by weight or volume. When making a comparison ensure you compare like with like i.e. % volume or % weight. The balance will be; solvent, polymer, silicone, Montan or mineral oils, beeswax, synthetics or other waxes"

Cited From -

"Automotive Detailing Inside & Out; a Knowledge Base for the Perfectionist"– by Jon Miller

It's not possible to have 100% carnuba - it would be as solid as a brick and astronomically expensive.