Customer Service 866.965.0400

Noob with some questions and concerns

Michael415

Question

First let me say this forum is phenomenal, as well as Adam's company. I have only started a small collection (buckets, mits, etc.) and everything has been of the highest quality. I think I am ready to take the plunge once the weather clears a bit and give machine polishing a go but am hesitant still so hopefully I can get some input to put my concerns to rest.

A bit of background, I am used to doing hand polishing using a clay/several step process so this is nothing new but its my first time on a dark colored car. I always had bright silver before.

About 3 weeks ago I purchased a 2009 Capri blue Mercedes SLK. I love the color but its DARK - to the degree it appears black in low light, purple/black in overcast and a hint of blue in direct light. When I picked the car up I could see there were a few small microscratches but nothing to get excited about.

After I got home about a week later I noticed some very light water spots. I did try to take pics but to be honest the camera has a hard time picking them up, but at certain angles they are noticeable. I will attach a pic.

This is my only car, but its not really a DD. I usually take mass transit (its easier than parking). So the car is somewhere between a daily driver and a garage queen. I probably take it out once or twice a week, sometimes more when the weather is nice. Apologies for all the detail I just want to make sure I cover all the basis.