Customer Service 866.965.0400

Newbie question on leather interior cleaning

Dr Jkel

Question

Ok fellow peoples, newbie here, first time doing this, so be gentle. I am trying to clean my leather seats in my truck 2006 GMC 2500 HD. They have never been touched before. I used full strength and it seemed like the color was coming off so I diluted it 50/50. Aftre rubbing and cleaning on the seat of course my rag was filthy, so I did it again with a new rag. I then got a damp cloth and wiped the area over again, my towel was dirty not so much dirt but seemed like a little color/dirt mixed in. The seats look amazing but the rag didn't. So what does this mean? Do I need to do the whole process till the damp rag is clean when I wipe it? My leather color is light gray. Thanks for your help. John

PS I am trying all this stuff on my truck first so I can learn, before hitting the Camaro

23 answers to this question

Thats good to know dylan. I now have a Grand Prix GT and they perforated leather....would that cause a problem you think? I have yet to try and clean them good with the cleaner but I do plan to and also when conditioning the seats in the SS i just used my hand can I do that as well with these seats in my GP?

I have perforated seats in my Vette. I use both products all the time. Won't hurt a thing. And you can do it with your hands. My wife does the interior on both cars and that's what she does.

Dylan,

Thanks SO much, please rememeber I am new to this and just don't know. I didn't know if there was a certain time frame etc... My Camaro is only driven on sunny days, but my truck is a daily driver. I'll send pictures when I am finished with everything.

John

Well I have completed my whole interior dash, seats and center console with the leather conditioner, I have a little shine to it but not alot, I like it this way, next is the carpets.

How often should I condition my leather?

as needed... depends on how much you drive it, how much sun it gets, etc.