Customer Service 866.965.0400

Car Battery

DanFish

Guest Gone & Forgotten

What kind of car? Optima Red tops are great (Gel battery, not as high of risk of damage from leakage), Interstate - I've had great luck personally with the Sam's Club bats, usually Energizer brand - price/bang for buck - Sam's Club.

CCA should be matched to car's specs. Why would you need more than the OEM requirement on CCA's?

I've had a Optima Red Top in my Jeep since 2006, so just over 5 years now and running strong. Ran it down a couple times with offroad lights and radio, jumped it and was forgiven. I've heard that the quality dropped around that same time, but mine is going great and I'll get another when this eventually wears out.

That's really my only experience with getting a battery for my own cars, I've had good luck with them lasting for the time I owned them. :)

I'm not a battery expert, however I can give you a little insight on battery brands. When I was working at my old job I did a lot of work for battery plants. Mainly Johnson Controls in Winston Salem, NC and Gevena, Ill. The plant in NC made Interstate, Optima, Exide, Die Hard, and a couple of other brands.

The Optima is a different type of battery and a very good one. I have one in my Corvette and it's pretty good. All of the others are pretty much the same with a different label on them.

Nothing has CCA and longevity like Diehard Platinum batteries.... nothing!

It took a lot for me to fork out $200.00 for a battery a few years back for my 2005 Screw that was a seasonal ride, but after going thru two Optima Red Top batteries and numerous OTC ones, I bit the bullet and purchased a DieHard Platinum.

I spent just over 10K in mods on that truck and I tell everyone my DieHard Platinum was the best investment of all.

It's the only battery upgrade that I now do.