Customer Service 866.965.0400

Flex vs Porter cable, whats the difference?

Jmorlan

Question

I am new to the machine polishing, and have an orbital buffer now, but its a cheap one.

Im looking to upgrade to the PC, since I am new and have little experience, the fact that I cannot hurt my paint is attractive.

My question is, whats the difference between the flex and the PC?

23 answers to this question

The P.C. is a real nice polisher and a good unit to get the hang of machine polishing. IMO, the Flex is a great polisher. I personally started with the P.C. and used the dickens out of it for 6 - 7 years with another brand of polish and wax. Since I moved up to the Flex (and Adam's), I haven't used my P.C. (or the other brand of polish).

The Flex has "forced rotation" and is more powerful than the P.C. Even though the P.C. will ultimately deliver a real nice job, I feel the Flex reduces the time to correct a car by about 30%.

I just got done doing this research a month ago. Basically, the majority of people start out with a PC because it's extremely safe and fairly cheap. It's like a training tool to get your experience up and techniques down. After people learned that, they felt the need to upgrade to the flex because it's more powerful and gets the job done better and faster, while still being safe.

After seeing the majority saying they wanted to upgrade shortly after the PC, I just went right ahead and bought the flex to start off with. I never used one before so it may be a tad but tougher to start off with, but it'll be worth it once I get it down

sent from your HTC Rezound

In answering your question to what Adam's actually sells :)

Simply......

Both are Dual Action...meaning they both orbit and spin at the same time, the PC is free spinning and the Flex is direct drive.

Bottom Line: The PC will slow down with pressure and the Flex will not. PC's cheap, Flex is expensive. PC cuts slower than the Flex. It's all in what you want out of the machine.