Customer Service 866.965.0400

Liquid Paint Sealant- Hand or Machine applied?

gapwedge

Question

The description of the LPS says it can be applied by either hand or machine. On my wife's vehicle last week I used my machine and was able to distribute a nice thin and even pattern and it was easy to remove. Today I thought I would just do the hood of my car and opted to apply by hand. I had a hard time getting a thin layer and so areas had more sealant than others. Plus it was harder to remove ( probably from not applying it thin enough). It also appeared to leave light and dark streaks on the dark red metallic paint. I was able to rub them out however. If I do the remainder of the car it will be by machine or I will use Quick Sealant instead. I am still new to Adam products so still figuring out what works for me.

Edited by gapwedge

9 answers to this question

Pretty common among liquid sealants and waxes I've used. Application by machine of course allows you to get a super thin application of whatever it is you're applying which is always the goal. Makes removing much much easier. I only hand apply in areas the machine won't fit, other wise not much of a reason I wouldn't use a machine. 

I agree that using a DA will allow you to put a nice thin coat.  I have applied liquid paint sealant by hand and all I used was a dime sized drop and spread it very thin say on the hood.  I also use kiss the applicator on the panel to remove any excess wax and use that as a starting point on the next panel.  I apply on the applicator as needed.

I agree that using a DA will allow you to put a nice thin coat.  I have applied liquid paint sealant by hand and all I used was a dime sized drop and spread it very thin say on the hood.  I also use kiss the applicator on the panel to remove any excess wax and use that as a starting point on the next panel.  I apply on the applicator as needed.