Customer Service 866.965.0400

Am I doing this right?

Question

Hi All,

I've spent the last few days going through some threads here to figure out my new car care procedure. Any advice or suggestions or corrections are appreciated as I am a complete newb when it comes to this stuff.  

Some info: my car is brand new and I've owned it almost 3 months now. I've just been going to the touchless car wash down the street and wiping it down with Waterless wash.  The color is Dark Grey and it's my Daily driver but garaged at home and at work (9 mile commute).  I will be doing some Cars and Coffee/Shows as well.

From reading I've gathered this is what I need to do first:

1. Two bucket wash

(touchless wash sprays my car with some type of liquid wax or something, Do I need to do a strip wash? aka add a couple ounces of all purpose cleaner to this first wash?)

2. Spray the car with detail spray and use the Visco Clay bar to remove any contaminants from the car due to sitting on the lot/shipping to dealer. 

3. Dry the car off

4. Apply Liquid Paint Sealant with a Blk Microfiber applicator pad ( I don't own a machine) and wipe off with a double soft towel.

Going forward I need to:

1. Use H20 Guard and Gloss every 4 washes (roughly once a month). Spray Guard and gloss while car is wet after a wash and dry off with grey microfiber towel.

Now some questions:

1. When applying the LPS do I apply it to the entire car then go back and wipe it off? Or do I apply to a panel and wipe off immediately? 

2. I know LPS is for protection, and since my car is a daily, it's the best solution for me. For the times I'm hitting a car show or Cars and Coffee and only care about that wet look, should I just apply some brilliant glaze? Or should I invest in some Americana/Patriot Wax?

3. If a wax is suggested from question 2 and I have another show scheduled a couple weeks later after I've waxed the car, do I just "refresh" it with some Brilliant glaze?