Customer Service 866.965.0400

Please critique my plan and a few questions

Editguy

Question

Here is my plan for doing the exterior of my new Acura. It's been on the road three months and been through one wash which didn't get it totally clean. It's my first time detailing a car beyond a traditional sponge and paste wax hack job and that was decades ago. Do I have the order correct? I don't have any polishing products/machines yet.

Pretreat stuck on bugs/tar with WW
Clean wheels the Eco WC
Foam car with CS
Wash car with CS
Dry car
Clay windows and car
Dry car with HGG
VRT tires
BW
Seal all exterior glass with GLS

Do I hit the car with some DS after the BW or is the unnecessary and/or counterproductive?

Do I rewash the car after claying or just rinse and go right to HGG?

Should I avoid getting HGG on my glass if I'm going to use GLS?

The car has painted pinstripes. Do I avoid going over the pinstripes with the claybar or is OK to clay in the same direction as the pinstripe? Same question for when I get a set of polishers, can I run machines over the pinstripes?

I appreciate any input as I'm starting from zero experience beyond watching a bunch of videos.

Enjoy the 4th!

IMG_0202 - Copy.JPG

Edited by Editguy

7 answers to this question

You don't have to dry the car after washing and before claying. Just clay while it's still wet.

I usually do a Rinseless Wash after claying to remove the residue but since you're going to H2OGG next you might want to rinse it off.  H2OGG likes a wet car. Depending on how bad the paint is another full wash is not a terrible idea and should go pretty quick.

I wouldn't use H2OGG on the glass if I'm going to use glass sealant. Redundant.

3 hours ago, Editguy said: