Customer Service 866.965.0400

Questions before trying the PC on my G8 GXP

Eidolon

Question

Alright, so I have the Porter-Cable 7424XP, newly purchased. I'm going to get a halogen work light and extension cables. And then I'm going to tackle my G8 GXP with it after giving said car a full wash and clay.

But this is my first time use. So I have many, many questions.

First off, what should I polish? Originally, I'd intended to tape off all the lights and trim. But I noticed that even the taillights have some swirl marks on them. Would the FMP make short work of those without scarring up the lights? And should I wax the lights, even, with the SMW? I intended to follow up the SMW with the Americana wax. What's the rule for the Americana wax on the lights?

What about rubber trim around, say, the doors? I bought painters tape so I could tape things up.

Also, the hood scoops on my GXP, I believe, are plastic. Can those be safely polished and waxed with the FMP and SMW? Or should I pop those out of the hood so I don't have to get polish and wax out of the cracks?

Any advice on how to polish around the lettered logos? Q-tips and toothpicks?

Should I make sure the polisher itself stays away from the logos?

Sorry, this is my first time using the PC Kit! :) Lots of questions!

Edited by Eidolon
Correcting grammar!

18 answers to this question

Not that I am an expert on anything, but I have used the PC 7424XP a few times with adam's stuff on some of the same type materials you are asking about.