Customer Service 866.965.0400

Need help with cleaning rims

Cpwest

Question

My uncle got new rims and said he would split his old rims 50/50 with me. These things were probably touched once since he originally put them on atleast 4 years ago. I need ideas on how to get all this crap off. $300 a piece new and you think he woulda atleast washed them once in a while. The is a half inch of brake dust (exaggeration) and chips of chrome coming off, rust spots. These things are already scratched well past the point of no return. What can i use to help remove all this crap? I have ordered metal polish 1&2, another gallon of APC. What else should i get? Will steel wool work? Any ideas would be great as i am a beginner.

IMAG0197.jpg

IMAG0198.jpg

IMAG0199.jpg

IMAG0200.jpg

IMAG0201.jpg

IMAG0202.jpg

IMAG0203.jpg

17 answers to this question

i came on here to look for answers to clean these wheels up a bit, not get questioned about why someone would buy these. My uncle asked me for selling them and being the nice guy i am i said sure. But i guess i cant ask how to clean up some trashed rims without having people wasting my time, so thanks and if you dont have any productive advice for me please dont post in my thread.

Exactly, they're trashed, there's not much you can do for them. The extreme rust, pitting, and peeling is not going anywhere. The scratches on the lip are very bad as well(as you mentioned). So, there's not much you can do other than use All Purpose Cleaner to knock off the surface soil. Sorry if I offended you, I just don't see any point putting in a lot of effort to clean them.