Customer Service 866.965.0400

Basic Question about wax

Shep

Question

Hi all, I am new to washing my personal vehicle and have a basic quesiton.

Car wax:

What is the difference between the Buttery Wax and Americana besides one being liquid and one being solid?  Is one better than the other?  Should I use both products at the same time?

Sealant?  What is this?  Should I use it, and do I put it on after waxing?

6 answers to this question

What is the difference between the Buttery Wax and Americana besides one being liquid and one being solid?  Is one better than the other?  Should I use both products at the same time?

Protection time.  The Buttery will last a couple of months, while the Americana will last twice as long.  Not really a 'better' type thing, just a personal preference.  No need to use both at the same time, as they both do the same thing.   

Sealant?  What is this?  Should I use it, and do I put it on after waxing?

You can think of sealants as polymer waxes.  They do not contain the Carnuba that give waxes their 'deep' look, but the polymers can allow them to protect longer.  They work best on daily drivers.
Sealants 'bond' with the paint vs. waxes that sit on top of the paint.

Many on AF apply LPS, then top that with BG and Americana.  You get the protection of the sealant and the look of wax.

I own both Buttery and Americana and as Michael said, you can expect a much longer life out of Americana. Americana gives you some more depth and shine too. Buttery also has some minor filling properties that can hide some scratches. 

And as far as sealants go, they are great to put on a daily driver, as they are going to last much longer than a wax. If your car sits outside for an extended period of time or isn't garaged, lay down a sealant such as Quick Sealant or Liquid Paint Sealant, before waxing your car.