Customer Service 866.965.0400

Car wash?

Ehiggins

Question

So I'm new to detailing and might be asking a sac-religious question but here goes.

I recently hand washed, clayed, sealed and waxed my new truck with all Adam's stuff. I don't have time to hand wash a full size truck weekly. Is an auto wash touch or touchless horrible for my paint? What other options do I have?

Thanks,

-Eric

11 answers to this question

You are correct to be concerned that a trip to the local car wash will undo your work!  A touchless wash is your safest bet, but the cleaning power in a touchless wash is the strong chemicals they use for the cleaning.  It will quickly degrade your wax.  

You may want to consider trying a Rinseless wash.  You can easily wash and dry your truck in under an hour using a Rinseless wash.  

The brushes can be abrasive. The chemicals can be harsh. And the rinse water can be nothing more than filtered runoff from previous cars. That said, the corrosive ice melt on the roads in the snow belt is likely worse!

depends on how dirty your truck gets using the following method I can do my brother in laws full Mega-cab Dodge Ram in 40 to 50 min

Get a gallon of rinseless wash ,Mix up a gallon of pre pre soak ( 18 oz of rinseless wash to one gallon of water ) in a 1.5 gallon sprayer (you can get one at homedepot for less than $15)

Go to your local pay and spray . Lay down a mist of pre-soak on each panel . Let it work for 5 to 10 min . Then high pressure wash the truck. Then preform a complete rinseless wash ( I prefer to use the one wipe them fold method ... Aka the Gary dean method ) I also prefer to use the plush waffle weave towels for drying.

It's not prefect but it will get you by till you have time for a complete 2 bucket wash