Customer Service 866.965.0400

Time Lapse of Ceramic Install

shane@detailedreflections

Question

We finally got around to working a bit on my own car this weekend.  We have the first layer of three down for coating.  Out of curiosity, I decided to take a time lapse photo of just the ceramic install process.  It's my first attempt at this type of media.

We use three of us to install the product since high spots need to be taken off slowly with a rotary and compound, or wet sanded down.  Two of us lay the ceramic and buff with three towels.  And one of us runs around rebuffing the entire thing over and over.  

Anyway, not my finest work on the camera and time lapse, but check it out.  Ask questions if you'd like.

Two more coats to be done today of the top coat.

10 answers to this question

That came out pretty good for the time lapse.  My first question is what was the duration from start to finish that you were taking pictures?  

I gather from the number of people who wore or at least started with a sweatshirt on, that it was rather chilly out, which brings me to my second question.  While LED's don't put out a lot of heat was the product sitting on the LED on the right side to keep it warm?  Have you found that the temperature of the product makes a difference when applying and hows does that relate when the ambient temperature is hot or cool?

Thanks for sharing Shane.

24 minutes ago, RayS said:

That came out pretty good for the time lapse.  My first question is what was the duration from start to finish that you were taking pictures?  

I gather from the number of people who wore or at least started with a sweatshirt on, that it was rather chilly out, which brings me to my second question.  While LED's don't put out a lot of heat was the product sitting on the LED on the right side to keep it warm?  Have you found that the temperature of the product makes a difference when applying and hows does that relate when the ambient temperature is hot or cool?