Customer Service 866.965.0400

Not wanting to open a detail business

RedexInLA

Question

As a Chief Engineer my week makes for a long one but lately I've done 3 cars in a month and doing a complete detail on a 04' Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer (Green), engine, shampoo, clean/treat leather, and full paint correction.

Seems that Adam's products and my PC attracts people.

I detail cars for fun and want to keep it that way but can't seem to say no, I'm charging $300.00 for this "job", a little cheap I know but couldn't pass it up, the before and after pics is why I'm doing this.

Do people ask to hire you to get their cars looking Adam's Clean?

It would be so easy to open a detail shop here where I live being the ones here don't do what we do or know. (been detailing my own cars for over 30 years)

I thought of opening a business here just to sell Adam's products, people here just don't know of him but would go crazy if they saw his products in action.

His products really would sell themselves.

Just thinking out loud

21 answers to this question

I was thinking the same thing, but to get a job done the way we do it around here would cost big bucks. Sorry to say, but people are cheap.

IMHO if I have to lower my prices to get customers and do a half azz job, I might as well not do it at all!

I just detailed this car, I charged $269, I spent all day Sunday, maybe 3/4 of a day Monday and a couple hours tuesday and Wednesday. Now I must have spent 20+ hours on the car. I feel I under charged, but if I would have charged more, I probably wouldnt have got this guys business

Thats nuts...thats half a week worth of worth for 270$ On my packages anything over 8hrs of work gets billed per hour @ 50$ per hour. But only you know how much your time is worth. Hopefully you get some good referals out of that. And I would make that guy never quote the price he received lol