Customer Service 866.965.0400

Liquid Paint Sealant with Cyclo

gbod

Question

This morning I finally had a chance to use my new Cyclo for the first time for some paint correction and then applying a coat of Liquid Paint Sealant to my daily driver.  As a total noob to machine polishing, I must say the Cyclo used with Adam's paint correction polishes and pads was super easy and worked awesomely!    

My question is this: How much pressure, if any, should be used when applying Liquid Paint Sealant with the gray Sealant and Wax pads?  The reason I ask is because when I was all finished and went to clean my pads, there was a ton of LPS that had absorbed into the pads, and it took me a long time with several rounds of Dawn dish soap and All Purpose Cleaner to get it all out. (Actually, I don't know if I did get it all out, I kind of gave up after a while- being waterproof, LPS is hard to wash out!)  When applying, I was just using the weight of the machine to spread out the sealant, but if so much got absorbed into the pads, should I have used more pressure to "squeeze" it out of the pad?  Or, is that just the way it goes? 

6 answers to this question

Thats just the way it goes, the polymer nature of the liquid makes it tend to be "sticky" and tough to get out of the pads completely.

I don't machine wax/seal but I do it by hand and just keep an applicator dedicated to whichever LSP its used with to avoid any cross contamination.

You're correct you should only be using the weight of the machine when applying LSP, no pressure, you're just spreading a thin layer at low speed.  Less is more and thin is in so definitely be sure to not over applying so a lot soaks into your pad.

As Jason said, you don't need to apply any pressure when laying down Liquid Paint Sealant, BG, or Buttery Wax with the Cyclo, Flex, or any other machine polisher because you are only adding protetion to the finish, not correcting it with a polish and a polishing pad :)