Customer Service 866.965.0400

Deep Wheel Cleaner Haze?

2500HHP

Hello all! I recently did a truck for a friend of a friend...They had a major complaint about the Matte Black wheels on the truck when they finally saw it, and in turn bashed me publicly on a truck group I was a part of...

What It looked like in the pictures to me was hazing. Has anyone else experienced this before with matte black wheels? I took pictures of the truck and wheels before I left, and what they had found 2 days later. I must admit, this is my first time doing matte finished wheels using the deep wheel cleaner.

First picture is the roadside rear wheel when I left the truck. The second picture is the roadside rear wheel almost 3 days after? When they complained about the wheels, I saw which one I had a picture of and specifically asked for a picture of the same one.

IMG_39251_zpsboqyv1yd.png

IMG_40251_zpsfcyl2dew.png

Yeah, I'm sure you could remove it. I'm just curious if it has the tendency to do so? I have had ZERO issues with it on gloss and or chrome finishes. This is the first time I've had my butt chewed over it :rolleyes:

Edited by Dan@Adams

I wish I still had my TBSS with the matte black winter wheel setup to test out for you. I would recommend against using Metal Polish on a matte black painted wheel to remove hazing, mentioned earlier in this thread. Instead, I would try washing them again with Car Shampoo or Waterless Wash, or a clay bar if neither of those work.

I would be hesitant to use any type of polish or glaze on a matte black wheel to remove the haziness without first talking to the customer or testing it in an inconspicuous area such as the inside of a spoke, as polish or glaze might give the matte wheel surface an unwanted amount of shine while removing the haze.

Edited by Dan@Adams