Customer Service 866.965.0400

New car detailing

Quickstep

Question

Hi everyone. I'm a relative newbie to car detailing so I feel a bit overwhelmed by all the great posts and videos I've seen here. OK, so I just realized a bucket list item and took delivery of a 2018 corvette stingray coupe at the National Corvette Museum up in Bowling Green, KY. One of the things that was included with the car was some samples of Adam's products. That got my attention right away and led me to the website. Long story short we got the car home safe and sound. I ordered a bunch of product and tried it out on our daily drivers first. All I can say is wow! The cars never looked better. I'm wondering what tips or advice anyone has on detailing a brand new car. I don't drive it every day and when not in use it's garaged and under an indoor car cover. Thanks!

21 answers to this question

Welcome Eric, and congrats on the new car! 

Since you picked up the car from the manufacturing site you may be able to skip some steps that are needed for cars that are shipped.  Try the 'baggie' to determine if the surface (paint and windows) needs to be clayed.  Feel a clean surface (the hood works great) with your bare hand.  Now place your hand in a plastic bag and feel the area again.  The bag magnifies the contaminates on the paint, but if it feels smooth you can skip that step.  

If you have not already done so, I recommend picking up some Brilliant Glaze.  It can be applied under Americana, Patriot, or Butter waxes, or over any wax or sealant.  This product really makes paint and chrome 'pop', and is great for putting on before a show.  

Edited by mc2hill

First of all, congrats on the new car.  That's a beautiful car and on my radar for vehicles to own in my life.  What color did you get?