Customer Service 866.965.0400

Polishing, Waxing, Sealing oh my?

thatryan

Question

Utter noob here.

Several products I see, but have no idea what to use, if I need it, or if their purposes overlap. Is there a primer read somewhere? Or could someone break it down?

My ride, daily driver is a 2013 BMW, with (beautiful) Estoril Blue paint. 

I want to keep it safe and shiny. 

I see products like paint correction, paint finishing, polishing, sealing and waxing... as well as glaze, butter wax, paste wax.  

Confusion!

Do I need to, or should I even bother? 

What does paint correction/finishing do?

Where does polishing come in?

Can wax and sealant be applied with the cyclo tool? If I bought one, could a noob damage anything?

I appreciate any tips and insight, thank you!

17 answers to this question

A great place to start is watching the videos that they provide.  It will give you a nice breakdown of what each thing does, a little info on how to use it, a demonstration of the product being used, ect.

Paint correcting and finishing polish is used with a machine polisher(flex, porter cable, ect) and polishing pads(foam or microfiber) and is used to remove any swirls in your paint.  The way to tell if your bmw has any is to look at the paint in the light and most likely you will see little scratches that are in a circle.

Polishing comes after you wash and claybar your entire car.  Claybar should be used before because your paint will have contaminants on it that you will most likely not be able to visibly see but can feel if you do the baggy test. (Put a plastic thin zip lock bag on your hand and rub your paint, you will be able to feel how rough it is)

As far as the cyclo, you will not hurt your paint using it ever(someone can correct me if I am wrong) and yes the liquid paint sealant and the buttery wax can be applied with the cyclo if you get the gray sealant and waxing pad.  I would suggest you get a seperate pad for each product though.