Customer Service 866.965.0400

Newbie here just need some clarification on some info

USCGRetiredJosh

Question

After years of just clay bar and waxing, I have decided to upgrade to a better detailing way. Been doing lots of reading about machines and how to's, during this winter. I have decided on the Cycle pro and get chemicals from Adam's. I just want to go over the process with a couple of questions.

Wash and dry vehicle - I use a brush(like for washing RV's and airplanes) to wash with and absorbent towel to dry(one of those you twist to get the water out) I haven't read anywhere that this way is an issue. BUT I'm going to buy a grit guard for my bucket.

Clay bar vehicle - I do this once a year.

Time for the fun part:

Tape off plastic parts - QUESTION: My wife's black 2010 4Runner has vinyl pinstripe, do I have to tape over these or can I polish right over it?

Adams paint correcting polish - My wife's black 2010 4Runner needs this step. My 2015 iridium(color) Sierra doesn't need this, just bought it

(I like the fact that I don't have to remove correcting polish, to start the next step)

Then

Adams paint finishing polish - I would start my truck here.

Then add my sealant I use: Mcquier's NXT - I prefer the synthetic stuff because it last longer and my vehicles are parked outside.

I use a soft toothbrush to clean up any wax build up around seams, emblems, and nook and crannies.

Then use VRT on trim

Then put sealant on rims and shine up the tires

How many pads should I have per vehicle?

Thanks for your help, I'm going to order my study soon and bread to start when the winter breaks.

7 answers to this question

First I suggest sitting down and spending some time on the Adam's Polishes Youtube channel. Lots of knowledge that can be gained there for a beginner.

https://www.youtube.com/user/Adamspolishes/videos