Customer Service 866.965.0400

Stupid Dealer installed Window Etch, can it be removed??

Ricky Bobby

Question

Long story short my wife got a smoking deal on a 2014 VW Sportwagen TDI DSG, loaded up, about a week ago, had 20 miles on it, never was registered.  The price was right so her Black Rav4 got traded (thank you God), its Pure white on Cornsilk Beige V-tex leatherette (in my experience V-tex is extremely durable and more so than real leather), Navigation, Pano sunroof, etc.  Best part is we are averaging 39 mpg mixed and haven't even broken in the engine yet haha!

(Hence why I've been a bit quiet on the boards lately, I've been re-educating myself on VW since I sold my 2008 GLI in 2012, I'm a bit rusty, ANNNNNND between the paint decon, clay, and new car prep I had to complete on the vehicle I've been busy as can be - after a year on the lot that paint was hammered with everything, but surprisingly not much defects or swirls/holograms, just a ton of fallout and rail dust)

Anyway, since it was on the lot a year they installed that stupid VIN etching on the windows, Dylan or any of the pros, let me know if there is any way to get it off.  Friggin dealer thought I'd be dumb enough to pay for it (they put $349 on the sales sheet!) but once I told him there was no way on God's green earth I'd pay for something that I can install myself for $19.95, they changed their mind and took the price off, but told me "they can't remove it once installed"

I went over it with clay lube and a razor blade and smoothed the glass out, but it is still there visually.  You can feel it on the other windows if you run your finger over it.  If its possible to dissolve it with a chemical I'd prefer that, I'm sure there are people out there that removed it.

Looks similar to the frosted effect on window in picture, similar to frosted glass.

d94539a7a9fedaa0df6461382dab2038x.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Ricky Bobby

15 answers to this question