Customer Service 866.965.0400

Working clean

Jason S.

Question

I've watched a lot of videos on AMMO NYC and some stuff with Kevin Brown. One of his main points is about working clean. This encompasses everything, but he primarily refers to "clean" pads. As you correct the paint, your pads are going to start getting contaminated and will start to become less effective. If they get too dirty, you may even begin adding defects as you remove them. I am VERY new to the polishing process. I have a new PC7424 and all the Adams polishing pads (but only 1 item per) and polishes (including the hand polishes). I am looking to hear about your techniques for working clean. How often do you stop and clean you pad? Do you operate the pad agsinst a microfiber towel, remove and wash, change to a new pad altogether, etc? I realize there are a LOT of variables, but how many pads should I keep in my inventory as a weekend enthusiast? It's pretty rare that I'm going to spend an entire day(s) polishing the entire car, but what's the average amount of pads I might need to complete a whole (relatively new, well cared for) mid size sedan? Can you complete an entire vehicle with only one pad? Thanks in advance for your responses.

14 answers to this question

I have a pad washer and absolutely love it. I have done both the by hand method as well as the pad washer and I think the pad washer does a better job at cleaning. Takes half the amount of time as well. I normally throw a towel around the bucket to prevent water from splashing on the polishers, but it works perfect for my cyclo as well as my Bigfoot 21.

There are some in the detailing circles that say you should have a new pad for every panel, which would be 6-8 per car. I've never seen anyone from Adams comment on their recommendation on the number of pads per car.

6 to 8 seems to excessive to me, but 1 doesnt feel like enough. at some point that pad is going to get bogged down with product.